Looking back and going forward

Tonight was a good night at church. Set up went well, we put some new practices in place in the Kids department, the message was awesome, the songs nailed the topic, we had some new faces, we went out to Classic Slice afterwards and had a great time together! Overall it was so nice.

So, why does Tim have to start a new job tomorrow? I wish he could keep working at Veritas doing what he’s good at. But he can’t, he has to work somewhere else and it makes me sad in a way.

But, I know there are some great things that could happen at this new job. He can learn some great skills, meet some people who will stretch him and just have some great new experiences in his life. I’ve heard that this is becoming much more common for church planters – to work outside the church.

And yet, this is still so bittersweet. I’m excited and sad at the same time.

I don’t understand why God does what he does most often. Down the road I usually get to see how it all worked out and what I learned from it, but it is still hard in the midst of it. I’ve seen God provide for us when I didn’t know how we were going to pay our bills, I’ve seen God stretch and teach me so many things during hard, hard times.

And yet, I still don’t embrace this time. I still wish I didn’t have to go through it.

But, it forces me to look back and be thankful for the times that I’ve seen God’s Hand in my life. And forces me to have faith (believing in what I cannot see) in God and his Plan for me now.

I know this time will have its ups and downs, I just hope I learn and embrace it.
Leave a Reply

