"Good" Friday


I have learned different things about God since having a child. I don’t believe you have to have a child to understand God’s love or His character, but I feel like I have learned more about those things since having Caleb. I think I’m a bit hard headed though!


Today is Good Friday (not sure why it’s called that, but whatever. I guess I kind of understand in that because of Jesus’ death today we have something to celebrate on Sunday, but still, I think it’s a bad name. But I digress…) and I’ve been thinking about Jesus dying for me.

I can’t imagine in ANY recess of my mind allowing Caleb to suffer like that for anyone! As a parent, I can’t fathom Caleb having to endure the mocking and the beating and the loneliness and the horrible death that Jesus did.

God knew what was going to happen when He sent Jesus to earth. God willingly allowed this. And Jesus willingly went along with it.

I know those are simple statements that many people believe and they are not profound. But thinking about them as a parent, they hit me differently.

And Mary, I still don’t know how she did it! As a human (and not God), watching my son go through that…there is no way! There is just no way!

I often times will end up crying if Caleb falls or something and cries really hard because he’s hurt. I CRY! How in the world could I stand by and watch my son suffer so horribly? I guess that’s why God did not ask me to birth the Savior of the world! You all would be in deep trouble!

In my excitement for Easter, I don’t want to forget about “Good” Friday. I need to remember the sacrifice and love that was shown for me today too.

Jesus’ death NEEDS to permeate the way I LIVE.
Leave a Reply

