Happy Birthday!


It’s hard to believe, but today (June 22) marks the first anniversary of Veritas’ first public service. We did sorta “preview” services over the summer before our official launch in September.


So much has happened in that year, and I felt it deserved some reflection.

It has been a year of many high highs and low lows. I love the people who are part of Veritas today. I really do. I didn’t think I could love a church like I love Veritas. There has been some intense heartache through this time and I have learned some great lessons.

I have learned that I am stronger than I thought I was as long as I rely on God to lead me and give me the strength to keep going. I know that I would have crumbled under this stuff before.

I am learning to come into my own skin. I am SO far from “completed” in that area, but I’m moving along. When we started Veritas I thought I had to be a certain way to be a leader for Veritas. But that wasn’t me. That wasn’t right for me. I think I thought I had to be over confident and tell people exactly what we would be doing so that they would feel confident with me in leadership and secure following me. But I think it came across wrong. Now, I am seeing how releasing things and letting God raise people up is so much more wonderful! I am seeing Him move in ways I haven’t before.

We are not where I thought we would be at this time. But I can see God working and I can see us moving in the right direction. I have learned over and over that my ways and ideas are not often God’s…but that His are better. This is a DIFFICULT lesson to learn, let me assure you. And I think I will continue to learn it for some time to come!

This has been a difficult year, but one full of growth. I pray that we have many, many, many more “birthdays” to celebrate and I can’t wait to see what God unwraps for us!
Leave a Reply

