Think positive

My last several posts have been kinda downers. Despite all the “stuff” going on in my head, I am choosing to post something more positive today! I could get all melancholy again and dive deeply into my thoughts and emotions….but I’m not going to!


I got to take part in my friend Emily’s retreat on Saturday in Chicago. It was such an awesome adventure!! I got to take the train and cabs! But it was so great to get to meet these women who mean so much to my friend and get to know them a little bit! I got to teach about prayer which was so neat. God is having us talk about prayer at Veritas right now so it was exciting to share with them what we are learning here! And I got to sit in on their teachings also which was so cool to hear from them also. This was the first time I was asked to teach somewhere!

And, it was funny to me to think about Emily planning this retreat for her small group. When I met her she was terrified to go on our sr. high winter retreat as a leader. TERRIFIED! And now, here she is PLANNING a retreat!! Now, granted, this one was for adult friends and not crazy hormone filled teens…but still! I think it’s pretty cool!

And, coming up this week….we have set aside Thursday, Friday and Saturday as our “Potty Training Boot Camp” I’m calling it. After considering many “techniques” we are going with the cold turkey approach. We are going to spend those days going to the potty every 20 minutes or so and, I’m sure, cleaning up lots of accidents. I know every parent has their own views and ideas, but this is the one we are going with. We’ll soon see if it was the right way to go.

This is bitter sweet. I’m excited to be done (or at least closer to being done) with diapers. But it also means that Caleb is growing up more. It’s weird. And I’m nervous to do this. This is going to be a lot of work, but I know it’s worth it and it’s necessary!

So, this week is going to be interesting! I’m looking forward to the adventure. We’ll see how it goes.
2 thoughts on “Think positive

  1. Good luck on the potty training adventure. We (code for we AND my mother) trained Gabe just a bit after he turned 3. It took several tries, but when he was finally ready it was a breeze! Hope it goes well (and quickly) for you!

  2. Hey V- Thanks so much for teaching! I know that what you taught was just what was needed for our group and I know it touched everyone! YAY GOD! Thanks for making the trek down – it was great to spend time with you!!

    LOVE YOU!
    Em

Leave a Reply

