Potty Training Boot Camp Day Two


This has been quite a day! I, again, won’t bore you with too many graphic details, but a few things I am learning about myself and about parenting.


Today was rough. Caleb seems to not want to go pee on the potty, but as soon as you get him off and into another room, he feels free to pee! LOL! I think we are a little ways off from pooping in the potty. But that’s ok. I hear that’s normal. Although, with the difficulties, we had a few great victories too!

It was exhausting keeping at it today. I know this is normal and EVERY parent has to go through it, but it’s heartbreaking sometimes!

However, I definitely don’t want a son who is in jr. high and in diapers, so I guess I have to keep at it. I’ve wanted to give up, but I won’t.

It’s interesting though. I FEEL (FEEL mind you) like I’m getting some kick back from other parents for doing potty training this way. I don’t think it’s WRONG. I don’t think it’s inhumane. It’s what we thought would work best for us and for Caleb. We tend to be all-or-nothing kinda people. And with Caleb’s personality I don’t think he would have done well with a long drawn out transition sort of approach. So, we did what we thought was best.

Do I question that every now and then when I’m cleaning up pee from the carpet again? Yes. But then when I think about it, I know this was best for us.

I’m not saying this is the only way to do it, or the best way to do it for everyone. Just for us. I do NOT pretend to be a parent who knows it all! I am figuring this out one tiny step at a time. But for us, this is what we thought was best.

It’s very hard to take in SO many different opinions and ideas and advice and research and then make the ONE choice for your child. I don’t know how people do it who don’t have God in their life.

I’m NOT trying to sound all high-and-mighty or holier-than-thou! I just mean that I need to go to God with parenting decisions and roads to take! Going to the Bible and praying and thinking down the road about what kind of man God has made Caleb to be helps me make decisions about discipline and how to parent him now.

Yes, even with potty training! You better believe I’ve been praying about it! 🙂

So, I feel like we’re making progress. Let’s see how day three goes!
One thought on “Potty Training Boot Camp Day Two

  1. Praise God for your dedication Vicky!!! I know it's tough trying to sort through all the input and advice and choose what's right for you and your family. "Without counsel, plans go awry, but in the multitude of couselors they are established." Pro15:22 Scripture is clear, we need to seek counsel often. As a mom, with all the cousel out there….both the asked for kind and the unasked for kind…I often felt overwhelmed to the point of shut down. Then God spoke to my heart in a way that gave me such peace and confidence. In reading Ps 1…
    " 1 Blessed is the man
    Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly,
    Nor stands in the path of sinners,
    Nor sits in the seat of the scornful;
    2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD,
    And in His law he meditates day and night.
    3 He shall be like a tree
    Planted by the rivers of water,
    That brings forth its fruit in its season,
    Whose leaf also shall not wither;
    And whatever he does shall prosper"

    Again…counsel. Blessed in the man who walks NOT in the COUNSEL of the ungodly. Wow! God gives me permission to disregard more than half of the plethora of counsel and opinions that I recieve concerning my children and other things. And more than that, He promises His blessing and prosperity when I make decisions that are founded upon my understanding of His character and His Word!!! It's clear that you're doing just that. Don't worry about the flack that you get from others….because you're earnestly seeking His will for your son, He's on your side. As a parent who also practiced cold turkey potty training, who practices first time obedience, and who (gasp!) spanks her children…I've got flack coming from all 4 corners. 😉 I got yo back sista! 😉

Leave a Reply

