Learning to give up control

Last night was non-profit night at Chill on the Hill in Bay View. That means we, as a non-profit in Bay View, got to have a “booth” there for free – what a blessing by those who organize Chill! Thank you!

We at Veritas have been building up to this event for quite some time. We went with a Noah’s Ark theme. The reason it was non-profit night is because it was also National Night Out, so there was a kids theme for the night. So, we went with Noah’s Ark. But we believe in “go big or go home!” And Veritas people ROCKED IT!

We “built” an ark, had kids games in it, face painting, and had a frog, elephant, gorilla, and Noah walking around and dancing. We did this in order to meet our Bay View neighbors, let them know we’re here and to invite them to church so they can meet an AMAZING God who loves them desperately!

God has been teaching me and stretching me A LOT lately! One of those areas is how I view church and how much do I do, how much do I have faith, how much is God’s job, etc, etc. Too much to go into right now, so please forgive me if that doesn’t make a lot of sense.

But, I have been wrestling with this event. I really didn’t want to view it as a “all our eggs in this basket” kind of thing. I didn’t want to see it as we HAVE to get people to come to our church through this event or else we’re never going to grow and we’re going to have to close and…..well, you see the slippery slope that is my brain!

I finally got to the point (because God lovingly kept at me and didn’t give up on me) that I have no control over this. We are doing the best we can with what we have. God has blessed us with incredible people who are seeking to follow Him. We are going to do this event the best we can and pray for the right attitude, and the rest is God’s! If He chooses to bring people to Himself because we danced around in animal costumes, awesome! But if He doesn’t, if He chooses to not grow us through this event, He is still good and loving and just.

That may sound elementary, but in some instances it is HARD to live out! I finally got to the point in my prayers (at least for the moment) where I wanted people to meet and follow God MORE than I wanted them at Veritas. If God can bring someone in relationship with Him and use a different church, then that’s to be celebrated! It’s MORE important that people meet and commit to God than that they come to Veritas.

Now, do I want be able to be a part of their journey and have them a part of our Veritas family? YES! But that cannot be my first or driving motivation. It can’t! And I have to sacrifice that desire often. I want to do all I can to help people meet and follow God, but HE has to do the work. I HAVE to be a willing tool, but He does the work.

That was a big for me this week. I feel much more at peace. I’m still excited to see what God does. Will He bring more people to Veritas in the weeks to come? I don’t know. I hope so. But if not, He has taught me something through this. And I have seen Him work in amazing ways in the people of our church through this as well. God is moving! We just want to keep up and never get ahead of Him.
Leave a Reply

