God spoke to Balaam through his donkey….

Do you think He can speak to Bay View through a….FROG?? I pray He does!! This blog is about lessons I learned while dressed in a (HOT) frog costume!

So, we at Veritas want desperately to be able to introduce (or re-introduce) people to God – their amazingly loving Heavenly Father who has gone to GREAT lengths to have a relationship with them. So, we need to get our name out. We had a Noah’s Ark booth at Chill on the Hill a couple weeks ago. The frog has been making appearances here and there ever since.

So, we decided we are going to have the frog stand on the corner of 794 and Oklahoma holding a sign with a fun saying on it and our website. We will do this Monday thru Friday 4:00-6:00pm.

As I was standing out there dancing and waving listening to my “Frog Jamz” mix on the ipod to keep me going I was struck with some things.

God has been teaching me lately (through great teachers) to look at obstacles as opportunities. I have been looking at our small size and slow progress as a church as a bad thing and always looking to the future, always dreaming about where I want to be (which is not where I am at the time). If we hadn’t started small and unknown like this, we would probably not have been as active in the community as we have. We would not have met as many people as we have. We would not have had our “office” at Stone Creek Coffee and meet the amazing people we’ve met there. We would not be at Chill on the Hill every week meeting people. Our heart for the people of Bay View would not have grown as large as it has if we were just given 500 people and office space. We’ve had to work long and hard for what we have, but we have grown SO much because of it and learned more than we ever dreamed!

I got the opportunity to worship God in that frog suit! As I said, I had my ipod on and had some great songs in that playlist. I needed good music to dance to – you have to be an ANIMATED frog! I was in that suit just lifting my hands to God and worshiping Him in front of all these people driving by. They probably had no idea that’s what I was doing, but I was. And I prayed the words of those songs over the people of Bay View. One of the songs I remember being struck by was this chorus: Sing alleluia, sing alleluia, Sing alleluia, Christ is Lord! Christ is Lord! The words are so simple, but when you are looking at hundreds of people driving by and your heart is just praying that, it’s amazing! Praying, “God, PLEASE be the Lord of Bay View, of Milwaukee! Be the Lord of these people!” And, music is powerful to me, so that makes a big difference for me. I got to have some great one-on-one time with God in that hot, sweaty frog suit! It was an amazing time of worship and prayer! Now, can I be that open with my worship when I am NOT dressed up and my face is not covered and everyone can see ME? I don’t know. I hate to say that I don’t think so. I need to work on that!

I got to thinking about what we’re doing and why. I so desperately want the people of Bay View to have a relationship with their Heavenly Father, the God who sacrificed so much to be able to relate with them, that I am willing to stand out in a full mascot quality frog costume (picture above) on an 80+ degree day dancing and looking a fool so that they will know that this church is here, we love them, we love to have fun, and we want to meet them and introduce them to God and help them to navigate this journey! I had moments of thinking, “look at all I’m sacrificing!” But, thankfully, God put me in my place quickly, and reminded me of Jesus’ sacrifice! My time dressed as a frog in the summer cannot begin to compare! But, nonetheless, we are trying to do whatever it takes to let people know we are here and want to meet them! If we hadn’t started small and struggling, I don’t think we would be doing this, we wouldn’t have this heart to do whatever it takes to reach people that no one else is reaching!

Sorry this has gotten so long. However, had I been able to somehow transmit my thoughts while in that frog suit to a computer via brain waves, it would have been much longer! These are the lessons I remember. I am excited to see what God does with our meager offering. So far, in the last 4 days we’ve had about 1000 hits to our website, so that’s pretty amazing! I am excited to meet some new friends tomorrow at church!
Leave a Reply

