But good things don’t happen to me!

I was talking to a friend last night who said those words. And when she  did I shared a time in my life when I said the same thing.


I found out my cousin was pregnant just about a month before I found  out I was pregnant. My sister doesn’t want to have children and no one  else in my family was at a place where they were planning a family    either. I had resigned myself to the fact that if I ever were blessed with  a pregnancy that I would do it alone. I wouldn’t have a family member  or close friend to walk that road with like I’ve seen in my family or  friends.

So, when I found out I was pregnant and that my cousin and I were due  only a month apart I was excited…but only for a moment. I really didn’t  think this was actually going to happen. I figured something would  happen and I would lose the baby or something. I’ve seen so many people  I care about miscarry and just thought it would happen to me.

Because good things don’t happen to me. Not things THAT good!

I told this to Tim and he looked at me and said, “Why can’t God give this to you? Why can’t you be given this experience together with your cousin?”

I didn’t have an answer. Except that I always feel like good stuff happens to other people, not me.

That’s a pretty bad attitude to have about life. About a God who loves me. Especially when I do have so many blessings.

There are some things happening in life right now that could make life go better. Way better. Some dreams could maybe be fulfilled. These could be some really good things that happen “to” me. I can’t go into it now, but hopefully soon.

I have to get past this “good things don’t happen to me” thing! If God wants to bless me, then I need to be thankful and ready for it. And then RESPONSIBLE with it. Treasure it. Remember it in times when the blessings seem few and far between.
Leave a Reply

