Who do you look like?

100_5951Sometimes I look at Caleb and see myself or Tim in him. I think he is a really good mix of both us, he doesn’t look JUST like either one of us only. But every now and then I look at him and think, “WOW! I can really see Tim in him right now!” Or another time I’ll see something in him and think, “WOW! He really looks like me!” And then there are a lot of times when I see him and just see how much he looks like Caleb!

And I got to thinking, do I resemble my Heavenly Father? And I don’t want to over-spiritualize this, but I’ve really been thinking about this lately. When people look at me, do they see characteristics of God in me? Do I reflect Him? Or do they just see Vicky?

What does that mean to look like God? The Bible says that we were created in God’s image. What would it mean for people to look at me and see God?

I think a great measuring stick for this would be the fruits of the Spirit. If God is working in me, then this list of characteristics will describe me. When we look at how Jesus lived when He was here on earth we can see how these words described Him.

Living up to this list is tough. And it’s a life long process. I will never attain them perfectly. BUT, I need to try.

I need to become more and more like my Heavenly Father so when people look at me they can think, “WOW! She really looks like her Father!”

Leave a Reply

