Incredible Mom

I had a revelation today while watching “The Incredibles”.  I had some Caleb free time and actually watched a WHOLE movie…and yes, I chose “The Incredibles”!

I’ve been wrestling with this tension inside me a lot lately.  This tension of being in ministry, working, and being a wife and mother.  I think any woman can relate – we tend to put a lot of pressure on ourselves.

I feel called and have a great desire to do the ministry I’m doing.  I love my job!  It’s stressful, intense, but I wouldn’t want to be doing anything else.  And I love being Caleb’s mom!  He is the most amazing kid and I just can’t believe that I have been blessed with such a special and precious little boy!

But those two roles always feel in conflict.  When I’m working I feel like I should be at home being the mom, when I’m home with Caleb I feel the pressure (and desire) of having to get work done.

And, if I’m honest, I am jealous of men (well, at least the men I know) who can live without that tension.

I put the clip above as an example of this. If you watch about the first minute you will we see what I’m talking about.  At this point in the movie I had these thoughts, and could relate!  All through the movie the mom (Elastigirl) was working as hard as her super hero hubby.  She’s fighting the bad guys, flying planes…all while taking care of the kids!  She is protecting them and caring for them as she saves their lives a few times.  Then, at the end (just before this clip) they saved the city from a robo-monster.  The whole family made it happen.

Then (in the clip above) they are talking about what just happened.  And what is mom doing?  She’s calling the babysitter at home to check on the baby!  She just worked really hard, saved the world, and is the only one thinking about the baby at home.  First thing when her “job” is done is kicking into “mom”.

I know, I am reading WAY into a CARTOON!  I understand that.  But I felt like it was such a picture of the tension I live with.  And I doubt I’m the only one.

I don’t think being a working mom is wrong or better.  I don’t think being a stay at home mom is wrong or better.  No choice is the “easier” one.  It’s just a line we have to always walk and navigate and do the best we can.  But that tension is always there.  At least for me.

Leave a Reply

