Fast may feel slow

I haven’t written in a while.  I lost my laptop for a bit – hard drive died!  FREAK OUT!!  But, I am working on getting things back in order.

But that is not the point of this post.

We at Veritas are going to be doing a 21 day fast in January.  (You can click the image above to read more)  We are setting aside this time at the very beginning of the year to seek God and give him the first of our year.

I am so very excited, and quite a bit nervous about this experience.

I am so excited to see what God is going to do in me, in my family, in our people and in our church.  I KNOW that God will do something – He proves it over and over in the Bible.  When you fast and pray, you are serious!  And I think God takes that seriously!  I know that He can do a lot in me, change me, make me more like Him if I am truly seeking Him.

I am nervous!  21 days without food (or maybe the Daniel fast which is eating only fruits and vegetables)?!?!?!  I am a little excited to cleanse my body and break some addictions to sugar, caffeine, etc.  But I know it’s going to be hard physically!  And, I know it’s going to be hard spiritually.  We have felt such attacks during this month of December, I can’t imagine what is going to happen in January!

But, at the same time, I have no doubt this is what we need to do….and I actually want to!  I have never done anything like this before.  But I see God preparing me already.  When we first discovered this, one of my first thoughts was “Awesome! This will be a great way to start a diet at the first of the year!”  It is no secret I GOTTA lose some weight!  But, I SO didn’t want that to be a motivation in this!!  And, God has been taking that away from me.

Sure, it could happen, I might lose some weight.  But my desire (as far as the physical side) is to break these strongholds on me.  Break these addictions to food that I struggle with every minute of every day.  I don’t want that to control me anymore.  And by doing this fast I am saying, “NO! GOD has control over me and my body!  I am not going to give in to temptation!”  I want to give God this area of my life!

I am anxious (in a good way) to see what God is going to do in and through our church.  Our church is in desperate need of God.  We have a vision to have 100 people at our Easter service and hold that service in a space we intend to lease that will require A LOT of rehab work (and $$).  We currently have about 20 people on Sundays.  And, due to accounting errors by the church who was doing our books, on January 1 we will have around $2000 in the bank.  Tim and I no longer have an income and our church bank account is slim.  But, we know GOD can do this if He wants to.  We will be praying during this fast for clarity and God’s plan.  If He does want us to be in that lease space on Easter, He’s gotta work some MIRACLES!

I am excited to see what is going to happen!

Here is a link to our website with some resources if you’re interested.

Have you fasted and prayed before?  For what reason?  How long?  Do you want to join us in this 21 day fast in January?

Leave a Reply

