Surveying the damage

Yesterday was a hard day.  Nothing in particular happened or sparked anything.  Just a tough day.

I am a visual thinker.  I have this image in my head of 9/11. Please note: I in NO way want to minimize what happened or what those victims went through!  I am no saying that what I’m going through is equal to that event, it’s simply an analogy.

I feel like at this point I’ve been pulled out of the wreckage.  Before I left for Blessing Ranch I felt completely and totally overwhelmed.  I felt completely buried in the rubble of the destruction.

Now I feel like I’ve been pulled out of that.  God reached in and pulled me out from under everything.

But now I am standing there completely covered in the dirt and dust of the destruction and just looking around wide eyed surveying the damage.  Trying to take it all in.

There is so much damage and destruction around.  Not just in me but in people around me.  It’s so much to take in.

Some days are good.  Some days are bad.  But, and I really DO mean this, I know that God is with me in every moment.  I know that sounds like something that should be on a bookmark or a tacky plaque or something, but I really do mean it.

God is the only place I can and am getting strength right now.  And He’s there with me.  In the pain.  In the questions.  In the uncertainty.  In the mess.  He hasn’t left me.

2 thoughts on “Surveying the damage

  1. I’m glad you’ve been lifted out of the wreckage! It can be discouraging to be out of wreckage because then you actually *see* what’s around you, but it is far healthier and safer to be in that position, even though it might be equally as painful. Praying that you sense God’s presence healing your broken heart and binding up your wounds.

  2. Pingback: Setbacks « this and that and then some

Leave a Reply

