You only get the token once you’re on the bus

I heard this story today from a friend.  This is a third or fourth hand story, so please forgive me for any inaccuracies or for a cloudy rendition of the story.  But it was so good and appropriate I just had to share it.

She was telling me about Corrie Ten Boom.  She and her father would walk to the bus together and were talking about the concentration camps and how she said she could never endure that.  There was no way she would be able to handle it.  Her dad addressed this.  He asked her when she got the token to ride the bus.  She answered that he gave her the token for the bus when she was ON the bus.

God doesn’t often give us the abilities to deal with difficult circumstances until we are there.  But he DOES deliver once we are there.

I knew someone in college who was diabetic.  I cannot express to you how STRONGLY I felt and said that there was NO POSSIBLE way I could EVER deal with being diabetic.  So, imagine my horror when 3 years later I was diagnosed as being Type 1 diabetic!  Somehow I have dealt with it.  And pretty well, I might add.  I have very good blood sugars and have had a very healthy pregnancy all while being diabetic.  God gave me what I needed when I needed it, but not before.

I ALWAYS said there was NO POSSIBLE way I would EVER be able to survive being cheated on.  I said I would absolutely divorce a man who had an affair.  I would never be able to put up with it or get over it.  I would never be strong enough to work through it.

Well, God gave me what I needed only when I needed it.  I’m by no means through this or done with it.  But God is giving me what I need when I need it.  I never thought I could stand up under this.  But God is giving me the strength to stand up and breathe each minute.  He is giving me strength to obey Him and His Word.  He is giving me strength to go on.

I never thought I could ride this bus, but God gave me the token when I needed it…once I was on the bus.  I may not have been chosen to ride this bus, but I’m here, and God is with me.

6 thoughts on “You only get the token once you’re on the bus

  1. Wow, what a great analogy of God’s perfect timing in giving of his grace. I pray today that God continues to give you those tokens of grace at just the right time during this time of healing.

  2. Pingback: More Confession Time « this and that and then some

Leave a Reply

