Grow younger to mature

The other day Caleb and I were brushing our teeth.  Absentmindedly I put my hand on my hip as I was brushing my teeth.  I look over at Caleb and he put his hand on his hip.  It was so cute!  And it really hit me how much he wants to copy me.  I’m his mom and he wants to do what I do.

This is a really simple thought, but it hit me, this is how I’m supposed to be with my Heavenly Daddy.  I am supposed to want to copy Him in whatever He does.  I’m supposed to watch Him and want to do what He does, even if it’s a “small” thing.

So I was thinking, as we grow and mature in our relationship with God, we really need to become “younger and younger” in some ways.  (The following examples are broad generalities.  Unfortunately this is not how many people have grown up, but this is a generality of how it could go.)

When we are adults we want to be independent of our parents for the most part.  We want to make our own decisions, live on our own, make our own way and our own life.  We don’t want to have to rely on our parents for anything.  That doesn’t mean we don’t want to or occasionally ask for advice, but we don’t RELY on them.

I think this could be somewhat like us when we first start a relationship with God.  We live on our own, we make our own decisions, but we will probably look to God for advice.  We are just starting to get to know Him, we don’t know much about Him yet, so we are going to keep living life in the way that we know how.

When we are teenagers we are starting that independence, but we still rely on and look to our parents for help (whether we want to admit it or not).  We are certainly spreading our wings, but still need our parents for resources, advice, maybe a safe place to fall.

As we grow a little more mature in our relationship with God we start relying on Him more.  We are probably still making a lot of decisions on our own, but we are looking more to God for advice.  We may pray before a decision about a new job, or where to live or who to date.  We see more that God provides for us, even though we want to think we are doing it on our own.  But our relationship with Him is growing deeper and penetrating more parts of our lives.

As young children we are dependent on our parents.  And we like to make them happy, we want to be like them because we look up to them.  We look to them to know what to do, what life is, who we are, and we learn how to do everything.  Caleb is two and a half.  He still needs us for most things – getting dressed, food preparation, going potty, reaching anything more than three feet off the ground, comfort, security, transportation, etc. (you get the idea!)

When we mature even more in our relationship with God we begin to rely on Him for more and more.  That doesn’t mean we are useless or can’t do anything on our own, but we don’t WANT to.  We want to follow God’s leading for all our decisions about money, how we spend our time, who we spend our time with, where we live and work, how we parent, how we treat our bodies – what we eat and wear, how we think and react, etc.  We want God’s ways for all of those decisions.  We want to live and act and think the way He would.  We want to be more and more like Him in all that we do and say.  And when He gives us instruction or direction or provision, we want to follow that.  We want our Daddy to be pleased with us.

As infants we are totally dependent on our parents.  A newborn can’t do anything alone.  We depend on our parents for food, shelter, love, security, to clean us to take care of us, to teach us to talk and walk.  There is really not much an infant can do on their own.

If we can mature to this point, we want nothing more than to be with our Father.  We want nothing more than to be nourished and nurtured by Him and to live just as He does.  Maybe this doesn’t come until we are in Heaven with Him, I don’t know.

I think as we mature in our faith, we have to regress.  I feel like the more I “grow” the more and more dependent I need to become.  I need to depend on God to guide me, to love me, to give me security and comfort as well as challenge and a push.  I want to get the point where I see something God does and my instinct is to imitate it!  If I see God put His hand on His hip while brushing His teeth, I want to be looking at Him and do the same thing.  But that means I have to become younger in order to mature.

That’s what I’m thinking anyway.  What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Grow younger to mature

  1. I have to agree with you. As we learn to “become more like children” in our faith we learn how to put more of our trust in God, that He will actually become more involved in the details of our lives. He has always been there waiting to be apart of it but we have to invite him. God doesn’t just barge in and take control. Like parents standing by and even jogging alongside when a child is first learning to ride a bike without training wheels, God let’s experience life for ourselves at the risk that we will fall. When we inevitably do fall, He is right there picking us up, tending our wounds and encouraging us to get back on the bike.

    Nice one Vicky!

  2. Pingback: Hanging on tight! « this and that and then some

Leave a Reply

