Pressed but NOT crushed?

Today was a rough day.  Well, intense might be a better word.  I have been doing better emotionally myself and dealing with all that’s going on in my house.  Some days are better, some days are worse.

But today the intensity came from outside my house.

I got a few phone calls today about things going on with family and friends.  And all of it is very intense.  They are all very difficult situations.  Some of them I can do something about it, some of them I can’t.  But even the situations I can do something about, I have no idea what to do.

I was praying for these people after all these phone calls and was just saying, “God, I feel crushed by all this news.  I feel crushed by all this pain and pressure.”  And immediately this verse came to mind:

2 Corinthians 4:8-9 (New Living Translation)

8 We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed. We are perplexed, but not driven to despair. 9 We are hunted down, but never abandoned by God. We get knocked down, but we are not destroyed.

Whew!  It’s hard to feel that sometimes though!  I know God is here.  I know He knows what’s going on, but it’s hard to not feel crushed sometimes.  It’s hard to remember I can get knocked down, but not destroyed.

Thankfully, I’m not in despair today.  Just pretty exhausted.

How do you deal with pressure and remind yourself that you are “pressed but not crushed”?

And I would prefer ideas that do not include food!  I am a pro with that outlet!

3 thoughts on “Pressed but NOT crushed?

  1. Hello Vicky, I apologize for just getting around to commenting on this post now. It’s been a busy last few days for me. I need to keep reminding myself when the pressure comes and I “feel” crushed, that I am not, that I am simply being pressed. I remind myself that Christ was crushed for me, and all the pain that I have in my life. I always tell myself to “breathe” in the breath of God and exhale the cares of life. I hope today has been a better day for you! Blessings!

  2. Pingback: Today is a mess « this and that and then some

Leave a Reply

