Stuck

I feel stuck.

Do you ever feel that way?

Like your feet are glued down even though the rest of your body is trying to move.  Or like your in quicksand up to your belly and your arms and head are free to move around, but you aren’t getting anywhere.  Or like…..well, I think you get the picture.

That’s how I feel.

Not totally drowning anymore, so that’s a good thing!  I think that’s progress.

But now I feel like a lump.  A stuck lump.  Not sure which direction to go in and not sure how to get these lead feet to move.

I don’t like feeling stuck.  I like to be on the move!  I mostly always have at least a direction that I’m moving in.  I may not know all the steps, but I have a direction and motivation and drive.

I don’t have that anymore.  Maybe I’m depressed, I don’t know.

I’m stuck.  And I’m not sure yet how to get unstuck.

I had dinner the other day with a wonderful, dear friend.  We talked about a lot of things, and I’m still processing a lot of what she said.  But she was saying sometimes when we’re stuck, we just need to take a step to get unstuck (or at least that’s what I remember from what she said).

So, I’m praying, trying to figure out what that step is.  Something that will get me unstuck, something that is a stretch but do-able (because right now the LAST thing I need is one more area to feel like a failure in!).

I have one idea, but I don’t know yet.  Not sure if that is it.

What do you do when you’re stuck?  What gets you unstuck?  I’m open to suggestions!

4 thoughts on “Stuck

  1. I am sorry you are feeling stuck. I’ve been there. There are days when its’ all I can do and muster up the strength to praise my Lord. It’s through praise and worship that everything begins to fall into place and I find that I can move again, if even baby steps. Praying for you!

  2. I’ve felt stuck before, too. It’s a hard place to be. Usually I find I’m stuck because there is something going on in my heart/with my emotions that I’m not ready to deal with yet. Often I’m not fully aware of what those emotions are. Sometimes I have to do what you said and take an action to get unstuck. Other times I have to sit and let things stew until I figure out what’s going on so I can address it head on. I hope you’re able to get unstuck soon!

  3. Pingback: Community « this and that and then some

  4. Pingback: The F Word « this and that and then some

Leave a Reply

