Community

I have been a little MIA lately due to getting a wicked ear infection in both ears.  My head has been quite cloudy from all the medication and pain!  But I am on the mend!

I like to try to comment on the comments that are left on my blog.  I haven’t been able to do that recently because of being sick.  But I wanted to post about the comments.

I’ve been quite down lately.  Life is very up and down these days, and the most recent past has been a little down.  But your comments have made such a huge difference!

I was struck most recently with this idea of community.  I’ve always been a huge supporter of community (i hope you hear the funny in that sentence!).  I believe that God created us to be in community.  Just look at Genesis and how God didn’t leave Adam alone with the animals.  He created a partner for him, someone he could be in community with.  God is a triune God – three in one.  He is community in Himself!  There are examples of community all over the Bible, in our society and I believe in our hearts.

Community gives us other voices in our lives.  We can choose what kind of community that is.  It could be voices that lift us up or not.  It could be community that is healthy for us or community that doesn’t help us get anywhere.

For now, I don’t have much community.  We don’t have a church yet and we don’t have a lot of friends.  But you, people who read and comment on my blog, you have been some community for me.  You allow me to share my thoughts, struggles, lessons learned, victories and general ideas.  And you offer back advice, support, prayers, and words of wisdom.

Your words on a few posts recently have really helped me.  You have helped to refocus me on what is right and true.  You have helped to remind me of God’s Truth.  It’s easy to listen to the other voices, they can be loud sometimes.  But you have helped me to hear God’s beautiful, still, small voice.

Thank you!  Thank you for taking the time to read, to comment, to pray.  You are making a difference in my life and in my family.  You are being my community when I need that.  God is using you to help me along on this journey and I am thankful!  You give me courage to do what is right.  You keep me pointed in the right direction when it’s easier to start heading in the wrong direction.

Thank you for taking the time to read and speak into my life!

2 thoughts on “Community

  1. is it okay to admit having tears in my eyes? I feel so reconnected with you, without all the small talk and fuss that dominates so much of getting together in person. I love small talk and fuss, but I am enjoying just listening to your words, discovering the beautiful spirit inside you. lots of love across the miles.

Leave a Reply

