The world changes tomorrow

Caleb has his own little cubby at school!!

Well, I guess it changes everyday, but tomorrow is a BIG day!

It’s Caleb’s FIRST day of preschool!!  I still can’t believe this is happening.  I am such a mix of emotions tonight.

I am SO excited for him!  I think this is going to be such a wonderful experience for him.  He is going to get to socialize with other kids, which he really hasn’t been able to do his whole life besides time at church.  He is going to learn from teachers who really know what they are doing (they have MASTER’S degrees and have been doing this a LONG time!).  He is going to be able to experience so many new things.  He is going to be going on field trips, learning from lots of different people, exploring his individuality and independence, and having tons of fun doing it!

And I am SO excited for that!!

But there is a part of me that is sad.  My baby is growing up.  And I am about to let him go out into the world by himself.  Of course, it’s just for a few hours a week in a very safe place, but he will still be there without me.  And he will be exposed to other kids.  Kids who may not be nice to him.  Kids who may say things that I don’t want him to hear…or repeat!  He won’t be under my wing for a few hours every week.  His world is going to get bigger, and the world can be a scary place sometimes.  And my baby is growing up!

Will they be able to understand him like I can?  Let’s face it, a three year old’s language skills are not always crystal clear!  Will he go potty ok without me there?  Will he share?  Will he be bullied?  Will he listen?  Will he still be the sweet, caring, silly, wonderful little guy I have now?  WHAT WILL THEY DO TO HIM???

(Can you hear the anxiety???  Irrational, I know, but I’ve never done this before!!)

So, now my prayers for him change a bit, or maybe just have some additions.  I know he has to grow up.  I know this is just a tiny first step of MANY big ones to come.  And I will get through it.  And I really am excited for him for SO much of this.  But I have a little sadness and fear mixed in as well.

O my sweet little bugaboo.

Just remember mommy when you’re having all that fun, ok??  🙂

One thought on “The world changes tomorrow

  1. I hope it’s a GREAT day tomorrow!

    On Friday I asked Gabe if he was lonely for us, and he said he didn’t even think of us once! As much as it made me gasp a little, it also made me smile and feel good because I know he’s having a good time! I know Caleb will, too!

Leave a Reply

