A walk in the park

The weather the last few days has been AWESOME!  It’s been warm (70s) and a wonderful little bonus amongst the cooler fall weather.

Wednesdays are “Grammie days” so my mom takes Caleb for the day.  After I had gotten done with some design work I’m working on I just couldn’t resist going to the park to enjoy the weather and the fall colors.

one of the ponds at the park

 

i wish the colors could have come out better!

 

I really wanted to take some time to be quiet and pray and try to LISTEN to God.  I don’t have, or take, many moments to be QUIET.  We chatted about a few things.  And then I tried to listen.

I kept getting “rest in Me”.

{SIGH}

I struggle with that.  Resting does not come easy to me.  There is so much going on in life that causes anxiety and stress in me.  And here God is telling me to REST in Him??

But I really needed to hear that.  I needed to remember that there is nothing that can happen that God can’t pull me through.  It doesn’t always FEEL like that!  But that is the truth.  I needed to remember that I cannot control everything.  But, oh, how I love to try to control things sometimes.  But I can generally mess things up that way.

And I kept being reminded over and over of the verses in the Bible about worry.

25 “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? 27 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

28 “And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, 29 yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. 30 And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

31 “So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ 32 These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. 33 Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.

34 “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.

Matthew 6:25-34

 

This park, at least on this day, has an insane amount of squirrels!  They were EVERYWHERE!  Have you ever seen the Alfred Hitchcock movie “The Birds”??  It was almost like that but with squirrels!

But I digress…..

These verses kept coming to mind and I’m looking around at these squirrels, the beautiful colors on the trees and the wildflowers.  I kept seeing how God takes care of these things. How stunning they are.  And they don’t stress.  I want to rest in Him.  I want to let go so I can rest.

My friend Heidi has a great way of commemorating events, times when she learns something or wants to remember something significant.  She collects a rock from that place.  I love that.  I thought of her as I was walking around the park and wanting to hold on to those moments.  I didn’t want to forget what God was telling me.  I didn’t want to forget how important this lesson is.

So I took some flowers to remember.

They are in my car.  They don’t look like this anymore.  But they remind me what God told me.  They remind me to repeat that lesson and those verses to myself whenever I get in the car.  They remind me to “Rest in Him”.

And I NEED to do that.

I need to.

 

3 thoughts on “A walk in the park

  1. Pingback: Well….DUH! « this and that and then some

Leave a Reply

