Foundations

I gotta record this.  I don’t have it all figured out yet, so forgive me if the words are a little unclear or imagery is slightly blurry, but I feel like I have to record this.  I don’t want to forget.

In my last post I talked about what January 19 was.

We had a pretty good day.  We spent the day hanging out, saw a movie, had a nice dinner, and tried to just enjoy being together (sans little one!).  There was pain, there were a lot of battles in my brain, but it was a good day.

We ended the day spending a little time with some new friends from Brew City Church.  These people are amazing.  Really and truly amazing!  They asked if they could be part of our day.  They wanted to “toast” us!  They wanted to encourage us, pray for us, and celebrate what God has done in this past year.  That was an emotional, sweet, amazing time.  I just kept thinking…where were you guys a year ago!?!?!  😉

It is now one week later.

The “special” day is done.  We quickly got back to the regular grind.

But I’m trying to process this.  I’m trying to look at what God is doing.  I don’t want to miss it.

What I can come up with so far is that God has shown me that December 19 and January 19 (coincidence on the dates??) were foundation stones.  I feel like they have given me something to build on.  Something solid to look back to and stand on.  They aren’t giant boulders, but they are significant stones.  And I don’t want to lose that.

Life is still painful sometimes.  My brain still has to wage war often.  But I can point to those dates and what God did on those days.  They give me something to stand on and build on.  And I need that.

Those foundation stones have made a big difference in my “mental state”.  They have helped me to look for, see, and choose positives.  And that is SO important!  They show me God’s Hand at work.  And I need to see that, be reminded of it!

So, I am thankful for those days.  I am thankful for some solid ground in what has been soft, mucky mud, and occasionally quicksand!  I have something solid to stand on.  Eventhough they feel small now, I’m ok with that.  Because it’s SOMETHING!  And I believe that they will be added to.  And one day I will be able to look back at more progress.

So, here’s to clinging to truth and positivity that only God can give me these days!

Leave a Reply

