Plain Jane

So, I got a facebook message from someone in charge of InterVarsity at MSOE (Milwaukee School of Engineering for my non-local friends).  She asked if I would speak for one of their IV meetings in April.  Tim is usually the teacher in the family.  He is very gifted at conveying the Bible in an engaging way that really speaks to people.  God has used him in big ways through his teaching in the past.  He has spoken at IV several times.

Me = never!

When I first got her message my knee jerk reaction was to write back and ask if she was SURE she wanted me to come speak.  After all, I have no “credentials” anymore.  I know most of the people who come teach are pastors or ministry leaders or something like that.

I’m just me now.  No titles.  No nothing.  Just plain ol’ me.

I’m realizing how much my identity was wrapped up in what I did.  UGH!!

But before I wrote her I figured I would read the passages she needed taught (there were two to choose from).  I read 1 Peter 5 in the NLT version and The Message.  Here is what jumped out at me:

4-5When God, who is the best shepherd of all, comes out in the open with his rule, he’ll see that you’ve done it right and commend you lavishly. And you who are younger must follow your leaders. But all of you, leaders and followers alike, are to be down to earth with each other, for—

God has had it with the proud,
But takes delight in just plain people.

6-7So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.

How can I argue with that??

So, I have a lot of work to do over the next month or so.  I need to understand and believe this passage so I can teach it.  I have to live it and believe it for myself before I dare try to teach it to these precious students.

I fear I may get more out of the teaching than those I am sharing it with!

I’m a little nervous.  Not of getting up in front of people, fortunately I’m ok with that one.

I just really don’t want to mess this up.  I am in the MIDST of healing.  I have so much more work to do.  I’m not on the other side of all this yet.  I don’t want to say anything wrong.  I don’t want to misrepresent God and His Word.  I don’t want my experiences and emotions to get in the way of what is true.  I’ll admit, I see most all of life (what I read, watch, do, think) through a filter of all that has gone on because of the affair.  I don’t want that to wrongly color what I say to these students.

So, I will carefully and prayerfully study this chapter and ask God to let it teach ME first.

I think it will be good for me.

I miss ministry and being a part of people’s lives.

One step at a time…..one step at a time…..

 

4 thoughts on “Plain Jane

  1. What an awesome opportunity and a blessing from God to affirm where you are at! You are also gifted at teaching. I could see that very clearly when I saw you teach at Veritas. And your humility and desire to want God to teach you through this passage first is incredible. My prayers are with you!

  2. Pingback: Who do I sound like? « this and that and then some

  3. Pingback: It’s a power struggle « this and that and then some

Leave a Reply

