Seattle Adventures #2: Mountains and Nature

This is a continuation of my Seattle Adventures!  These posts started yesterday.  Enjoy!  🙂

Mountains and Nature:  I am so totally amazed, in awe at, just plain love seeing mountains!  I guess living in the midwest my whole life hasn’t really afforded me much opportunity to see much terrain.  I love the scenery!  To me they are breathtaking.

Sarah and I drove to Mt. Rainier one day.  It takes about 2.5 hours to get there, then drive up the mountain to where you can stop and look out.  I got horribly car sick on the way there….we almost didn’t go into the national park and up the mountain because the roads are just WINDY!  And with being carsick Sarah was concerned I wouldn’t make it….and it ain’t cheap to get in the park.  I am SO glad I made sure to go!  It was incredibly cloudy, so we didn’t have much of a view that day, but still a wonderful time.

The amount of snow (and therefore how COLD it was) was something neither of us were prepared for.  The people who run the snow plows there….there just aren’t words for how talented I believe they are!  The roads are narrow and winding and narrow and winding and narrow and winding!  There are poles stuck in the ground to let them know where to plow to and it is remarkable how close they get to those poles!  We actually almost got run over by a snow plow.  We were coming around a curve (did I mention the roads are windy?) and outta nowhere this huge orange snow plow is barreling down on us!  We both literally screamed out loud a little!

The snow was higher than our car as we drove up Mt. Rainier!

The road signs needed to be carved out of the snow!

Once we got to the “top” (where you are allowed to go) we ate some DELICIOUS black bean salad and grapes for lunch.  (Sarah has a couple recipes I need to get from this week!)  It was FREEZING outside so we opted to enjoy the “scenery” from the car for a bit.


We saw this big, fat, gnarly looking black bird walking in the parking lot.  We were astonished at how close he go to our car!  But he didn’t fly, he was just this cute, fat little bird waddling around shaking his little tail feathers back and forth.  He kinda looked like he owned the place and was just walking around to make sure all was well.

All of a sudden this little bird looks like it’s about to dive bomb our car, and instead perches on the side mirror!  SO cute!  Sarah and I were like little kids squealing at this little bird sitting SO close to us. Then we saw one on another car in the parking lot.  And they started FEEDING this bird from their car.  Normally, Sarah and I would not have fed the bird….we didn’t know what if our food would cause him problems, etc.  But we couldn’t resist!  We broke off little pieces of our tortilla chips and fed them.  We rolled down the windows about half way and THEY ATE FROM OUR HANDS!!  Again, we were like little kids!  It was JUST like when Caleb gets so excited when the goats eat out of his hands.

We got out and looked around a bit, saw some beautiful icicles, watched some people snowshoe…and that was about all we could handle of the cold.  So, after freezing our hineys off, we started down the mountain.  Along the way we stopped at another sort of look out point.  In this parking lot we met a FOX!  He was SO cute!!  Again, he was totally comfortable with people and came over to the car, circled it, checked us out, and we enjoyed our little companion for a bit.



Sarah and I in front of tons of snow and ice!

All of it was just beautiful!  I LOVE getting out in nature….especially when it is out of the norm.  I really feel like it’s a way that I worship.  I just am in awe at God’s creation and the HUGENESS of God to see these things He created.  I just love it so much!

A BONUS! This is the top of Mt. Rainier that I saw as I was flying out over the clouds! I was grinning ear to ear as I saw this amazing sight!

2 thoughts on “Seattle Adventures #2: Mountains and Nature

  1. Pingback: Seattle Adventures #3: “Touristy” Things « this and that and then some

  2. Pingback: Seattle Adventures #4: Conversations « this and that and then some

Leave a Reply

