Seattle Adventures #3: “Touristy” Things

I am trying to recollect my amazing week in Seattle, and this is my third installment.  Walking and Mountains and Nature are linked here.

“Touristy” Things:  I don’t travel much, but the few times  I have, I try not to be too much of a tourist.  I don’t know why, but I don’t want to be that geeky tourist.  I want to blend in….even though I’m not from there.  I know, I’m a dork, what can I say?

For example, I refused to carry an umbrella in Seattle because only tourists use umbrellas.  Those who live there are just used to it and pretty much don’t carry an umbrella.  So, I got wet, my hair got a little messed up, but I didn’t look like a tourist!

I did, however, feel like I needed to see some of the “touristy” type things Seattle has to offer.  Caleb got a book from my mom when she was visiting Seattle a few years ago called Larry Gets Lost in Seattle.  I really wanted to try to get pictures of each place in his book so I could show him when I came home.  However, some things costed money, and I didn’t want to spend $15 to go to the top of the Space Needle!  A picture from afar would be just great for Caleb!  🙂

This is the view from the stairway in my cousin's apartment!

We went to the Pike Market. Oh my goodness…..beware!!  You could spend A LOT of money here!  There were SO many things I would have loved to buy for myself and for gifts!  But we went there on my first day there, and I just couldn’t spend money shopping on my first day there.  But there were beautiful artist’s pieces they were selling, awesome, quirky t-shirts I wanted, GORGEOUS tulips, fresh homemade yumminess, unique and interesting shops…so fun!  So, I had to get the picture of the sign to show Caleb from his book.  The funny thing is that the time on my picture is almost EXACTLY the same time as in the book!

This place is wonderful!

This pig was in his book, so I had to get a picture with him!

I just thought this floor was so beautiful! It is the original floor from the ramps they used to wheel the cargo to and from the boats. It was really wavy and lovely. I only had one quick second to put my camera on the floor and click this pic, but I like it.

This is a wall of GUM! Chewed gum! Crazy, and kinda cool, and a lot gross!

Like I said....gross!

We did the Seattle Underground Tour and saw….

The first toilet! Named after its creator...Mr. Crapper!

Then there is the Hammering Man outside the Seattle Art Museum…

Quite a LARGE man!

And of course you need to see the Freemont Troll!  This thing is HUGE!  It was an art project by some art students.  The car in his hand is a VW Beetle.  And he stays mostly free of graffiti!  That was surprising to me.  I like that they appreciate art enough to leave him alone.  A pretty impressive sight.

I chose the photo with people climbing on him to give you some perspective of his size.

And, probably only a tourist would take a picture of the street…but the trees were so pretty!  I really wanted to get some pictures of the cables above the street…but I would have to stand in the middle of an intersection and kinda thought that could be a little dangerous, so I decided against it.  But I really wanted to!

One thought on “Seattle Adventures #3: “Touristy” Things

  1. Pingback: Seattle Adventures #4: Conversations « this and that and then some

Leave a Reply

