Lessons from Pinocchio

Caleb and I have been going to the library every Tuesday for story time and also to borrow books and movies.  It’s a fun time to get some new books to read, some new movies to watch, and trying to get him excited to read.  He LOVES reading stories, but he ALWAYS picks the same books over and over and over! So, this way, we get a new book to read over and over and over…but just for a week!  😉

Anyway, his favorite right now is Pinocchio.  In the book the Blue Fairy tells Pinnochio he will become a real boy only after he proves himself “brave, truthful and unselfish”.  Well, an almost 4 year old doesn’t know what those words mean, so we had to learn some new words! (Sometimes it’s hard to explain words to a child when you just know what they mean!)

We said brave is doing what is right even if it’s scary.

Truthful is…well….telling the truth!  Not telling a lie. (I then had to explain what lying is)

Unselfish…this is a TOUGH one for a kid (and an adult!!).  We said unselfish is thinking about others first.  Doing nice things for other people.  Being kind to others.

Thinking about others first does not come naturally to us humans.  It’s not the way we’re made, unfortunately.

Lately I’ve noticed how self focused I’ve become.  It’s easy to do when you’re pregnant!  Everything can become about me…how I feel, how my health is, how tired I am, how cranky and emotional I am…..you get the picture!

Relationships are hard.  Would anyone disagree with me??

I see no hands….so let’s move on.

Relationships, of any kind, take work.  And the closer the relationship, the more work it takes.  It’s so easy to become bitter, discouraged, vengeful, angry, unforgiving…..you can finish the list.

I’ve decided to work on that.  And I would L O V E for you to join me!

I am committing for the next 30 days to pray everyday for Tim.  My sister gave me the book “The Power of a Praying Wife” when we got married 12 {gasp!} years ago.  I am going to use that book and pray for Tim everyday with at least one of those “chapters”.

Would you join me?  Would you like to commit to praying for someone every day for the next 30 days?  It could be a spouse, a child, a friend, a family member, a significant other, a co-worker, whoever it needs to be for you.

And if you’re not the praying type, maybe you could work on changing your attitude toward this person.  Maybe it’s treating them differently.  Maybe it’s simply saying hello to someone at work (with a warm attitude!) who you normally avoid.  Maybe it’s trying to find ONE good thing about a person each day.

Now, if you do pray for someone, the prayers can’t be a “spiritual” way of manipulation!!  I can’t have my prayer for the day be, “Dear God, please make Tim remember to pick up his dirty dishes!  And please, in Jesus’ name, remind him to DO the dishes once in a while!  Thank you.  Amen.”

THAT IS NOT THE POINT OF THIS!!!  😉

(I think you know that though!)

I know for me, praying for Tim changes me and my heart.  I think it helps Tim too….but it changes my heart toward him and how I feel about him, see him, and treat him.  And those things need to be changed in me.

So, if you would like to join me in this little 30 day adventure, comment below and let me know if you’re in.  Then let’s check back every so often and see how we all are doing.  What we are learning, how God is changing us, and maybe even how He is changing our relationships!

Let’s do this together!

5 thoughts on “Lessons from Pinocchio

  1. Hi! I came over from Babycenter…congratulations on your pregnancy!!! So I was half-stalking your blog and just wanted to say that my husband had an affair in 2009 and we were separated for several months…but by the grace of God, we were reunited! Obviously I would never want to go through the pain of it all again, but we have learned and grown SO much from it all. Anyways, we haven’t announced our pregnancy yet because so many people we know in real life read our blog and we are waiting on our first ultrasound (which is FOREVER away!!!). I’m so excited about meeting up with others due around the same time!

  2. Pingback: It’s a long, long road « this and that and then some

  3. I work at a Lasallian (read: Catholic) all-boys high school in NYC, and was looking for a fun idea for morning prayer on Tuesday. Conveniently, Tuesday is the 72nd anniversary of the Pinocchio premier in NYC. This post was super helpful to me as I wrote the prayer! Thank you so much!!!

Leave a Reply

