Am I a blessing to my kids?

My littles! I wish Adara would have smiled...she has such a great smile!

My littles! I wish Adara would have smiled…she has such a great smile!

Gosh, I miss blogging!  My computer time is pretty scarce and lately it’s been spent working on VDub Designs projects and revamping my website.  But I’m sneaking a little time to write today.  Hopefully I can get this whole post done in one sitting!  🙂

I have become very lax in my Bible reading lately.  BAD idea!  For me, I need that.

So, I found a reading plan in my YouVersion app and have been using that to get my butt back in gear a bit.  It’s a reading plan about Advent.  So far it’s been looking at lots of different places in the Bible that point to Jesus’ coming to earth, not just “the Christmas story”.

Anyway, it took me to Genesis 22 the other day.  This is the story of God asking Abraham to sacrifice his ONLY son Isaac and how God provided a sacrifice for Abraham at the very last second.  God was testing Abraham to see what his commitment was and Abraham passed with flying colors!  There are so many things I could say about this story, but as I read it the other day something different jumped out at me.

Verses 15-18 say:

15 Then the angel of the Lord called again to Abraham from heaven. 16 “This is what the Lord says: Because you have obeyed me and have not withheld even your son, your only son, I swear by my own name that 17 I will certainly bless you. I will multiply your descendants beyond number, like the stars in the sky and the sand on the seashore. Your descendants will conquer the cities of their enemies. 18 And through your descendants all the nations of the earth will be blessed—all because you have obeyed me.”

Verse 18 stuck out to me.  His descendants and all nations would be blessed because Abraham obeyed God.

It made me wonder if I live my life in such a way that my children are blessed.  Do I obey God, do I live in a way that extends blessings unto them?  More often than not I would probably say no!  😉

It really made me stop and pray much more often throughout the day.  I ask God for more patience, more wisdom on how to parent them.  I ask God to help me be more calm and peaceful with them so I don’t yell or get frustrated.  Sadly, it seems just minutes after praying, I’m back into my old ways of impatience and frustration!  So, I have to stop, regroup, pray, and start again!  Over and over and over and over!

What parent doesn’t want blessing for their child?  And I’m not talking about THINGS.  I’m not saying that if we parent “better” then our children will have it easy or have more stuff.  I want Caleb and Adara to see God!  I want them to be blessed with love, patience, grace, goodness, gentleness, self control, wisdom, compassion, courage, boldness.  I want God to shower His blessings on them so that they can grow to be the most amazing people you have ever come in contact with!

Now, do I think that if I’m a bad parent that God won’t love them or give them “blessings”?  No.  God loves them so much more than I do.

But, if I can help ADD blessings to their lives, I would love nothing more!  I want to be a good mom for THEM.  So that they can grow and develop healthy and secure and knowing God in their lives.  They have both been through a lot in their little lives.  I want to do whatever I can to pour love, blessings, and God into them.

This parenting gig is serious, hard work!  But lots of smiles, giggles and snuggles too!!

2 thoughts on “Am I a blessing to my kids?

  1. I think this is the cry of every mother’s heart, that their children would be blessed. I never want to do anything to hinder God’s blessings in my life, so that I can in turn give those blessings to my kids. Nice to “see” you blogging again.

Leave a Reply

