Feels like a chapter is closing

{I wrote this LAST WEEK Wednesday, but haven’t had time to finish it until now!  Just read it thinking it’s last Wednesday!  ;)}

Tim is working out of town all week.  That causes me a little stress….I’m not used to being alone with the kiddos that long.

And I knew today, Wednesday, was coming.

Not only did we have a snow storm coming (dumped somewhere between 7-12 inches), but I also had to take Adara to Children’s Hospital for her cardiology check up with a sedated echo (an ultrasound of her heart).  AND, Caleb also had his occupational therapy today.  LOTS of driving!

Adara had to be sedated because, as hard as you’d try, you can’t explain to a 1 year old that they need to lay still while someone ultrasounds her heart.  They gave her a very yucky medicine and then we wait for her to fall asleep.  In the meantime, she got pretty loopy!  She fought falling to sleep quite hard!  She wanted to stand up, walk around, but that was NOT possible!  She looked like a rag doll, her head flopping around, making funny sounds…it was kinda humorous!

Waiting for her sedation meds

Waiting for her sedation meds

She's just so cute in the little baby hospital gown!

She’s just so cute in the little baby hospital gown!

She finally fell asleep and I carried her to the ultrasound room.  The tech took around 30 minutes to look at all the views of her amazing little heart.  Well, then she left and brought back another tech.  I felt my stomach just drop to the floor!  The last time I remember this happening is when I was pregnant and they first told us about the holes in her heart.

It was SO surreal seeing her hooked up with the leads and watching the monitors again!  Just so weird!

It was SO surreal seeing her hooked up with the leads and watching the monitors again! Just so weird!

It was kinda weird looking at an ultrasound screen and NOT seeing a little baby on it!

It was kinda weird looking at an ultrasound screen and NOT seeing a little baby on it!

 

Leading up to today I have been 99% sure Adara is fine and they wouldn’t find anything alarming today.  But there was still that nagging 1% that made me wonder….wonder if things really are fine.  That little bit of worry that they would have to do another surgery or find something wrong with her heart.

After the ultrasound we went back to our room and I got to snuggle a sweet sleeping Adara in my arms.  She was OUT!  At one year old I don’t get many opportunities to hold Adara while she sleeps.  She is NEVER still….EVER!  But today I got to watch her sleep in my arms while we waited for the cardiologist to come in and tell us what she saw.  It was a little bit of heaven!

Sleeping so peacefully in my arms!  She's so mobile and active this doesn't happen anymore!

Sleeping so peacefully in my arms! She’s so mobile and active this doesn’t happen anymore!

 

So sweet!

So sweet!

Our cardiologist came in and told me the ultrasound looked great!  The leaks in the valves that were there are almost gone.  The leaking is so minimal it shouldn’t give her any problems.  The holes that were there from the patch they put on (tiny holes from sewing the patch on) had healed up and there were no leaks there either!  She has no restrictions.  She is basically a normal kid with heart surgery in her medical history.  Her risk for heart disease, etc. is no different than any of the rest of us.

I was SO happy to hear that news!  I couldn’t stop smiling!  I kept asking clarifying questions so I was SURE I was hearing her right!

I kinda feel like this appointment closes a chapter for us.  We will NEVER, EVER forget this journey.  The feelings still bubble to the surface as I drive near Children’s.  The smells take me right back to our month there.  So many things spark memories of our times there.

While those memories will never leave us, the urgency and risk of her health situation is gone.  Adara doesn’t need to be treated any different than any other child.

That’s a weird feeling.

But a good one.

2 thoughts on “Feels like a chapter is closing

Leave a Reply

